Me

In summer sun or winter sleet,

With sweating brow or frozen feet,

I sit completely incomplete,

And mutter words I can’t repeat.

 

While liars lie and dreamers dream,

And con-men plot, and plan, and scheme.

Things aren’t always what they seem.

There is in fact no I in team.

 

There is in fact no team in I.

I stand alone, it’s do or die.

Sometimes I rage, sometimes I cry,

Sometimes I quit before I try.

 

Sometimes I try before I quit,

When I pretend to give a shit,

But win or lose this game of wit,

I only smile or wince a bit.

 

And walk away to sit alone,

To ponder things I have been shown,

To know that I am never known,

And heart and soul are all I own.

 

One response to “Me

Leave a Reply

