Awake!

After writing the post the other day about how tired I am all the time, I stumbled across an article on Yahoo News.  It was all about sleep, and how to get more out of it.  The one tip that caught my eye was that sleep cycles go in 90 minute intervals.  Waking up in the middle of one is what creates that groggy, foggy feeling that I tend to live in.  The author of that particular segment recommended getting 7.5 hours of sleep rather than 8 or 8.5

This is sort of counter intuitive.  I am tired, therefore I need less sleep??  But I figured I’d give it a shot.

Last night I went to bed 7.5 hours before my alarm was due to go off.  This morning I am wide awake!

It is hard to know if this is the only reason I feel better today.  I started taking vitamins again a few days ago, so they may be affecting things.

I also am in the middle of a spat with a member of my gaming group.  Conflict energizes me, as anger is my primary source of fuel.  So that may be having an effect.

Lastly, I am coming out of a psychological cycle that is an old familiar thing for me.  The clouds part, the sun shines, the rain stops.  I can do anything I put my mind to.  Everything is going to be all right.  This will last until a trigger event causes the return to the grey, cloudy days where I am trapped in a meaningless existence and nothing ever goes the way I want it to.

So, during the sunny days I take as many steps forward as I can.  I push forward with my gaming clan, try to learn new songs on my bass, go after achievements on my 360, take some training at work.  Whatever improves things, while I have the energy and enthusiasm to get something done.  Then, as the clouds gather in the sky, I nail my feet to the floor to avoid sliding backward, and hold on to what gains I have made until the storm passes.

This is both the reason for my success, and the reason I have not had more of it.  I do not lose ground.  I hold on like a Pit Bull with a rope in its’ mouth.  But the wasted time when I am making no forward progress, just holding on to what I’ve got, keeps me from getting as far ahead as I could be.

So the good news is, it’s Friday and I am ready to rock and roll!

The bad news is… this won’t last.

But hey, at least I’m not tired today….

One response to “Awake!

Leave a Reply

