December 23rd

Another year is coming to a close.

I am mindful of the fact that I spend a lot of time bitching about things that aren’t the way I would like them to be.  So, I want to take the first few lines of this post to  talk about the things I am thankful for.

I have two great kids.  They don’t always approach things in a way that makes sense to me, but they are fine young ladies nonetheless.  They are smart, and funny, and talented.  And they are growing up way too fast!

I have a wonderful wife who loves me unconditionally.  We fuss and argue from time to time, but she has this amazing ability to forget about all of that and love me anyway.  Of course, I too forget about it, but that’s because I legitimately don’t remember whatever the issue was…

I am employed, and though I hate my job it is better than not having one.

I enjoy the benefits of a middle-class lifestyle in America.  Which, for all its flaws is still the best place I can think of to live.

All that said, I am still stuck in a rut.

This time last year I was in a better place in terms of my work environment and my career.  So, I have spent 12 months going backward.  That’s never a good feeling.  I used to be surrounded by people I could aspire to be more like, and now I am surrounded by people I have never been like, and could never been like, unless I am struck in the head with a bus or something.

It is 62 degrees and raining outside at 6 am.  Hardly the “Hallmark” Christmas image.

The news is not filled with stories of goodwill and “peace on Earth”.  Rather, political scandals and the Duck Dynasty controversy are what fills our airwaves.

I do not know if it is the fact that I am an adult now, or the world in general changing, but Christmas has no magic any more.  It’s a day off work.  One day to be exact.  Since it falls on a Wednesday I am expected to be at work the other 4 days this week.

The kids look up from their phones long enough to unwrap a couple of presents, which in many cases will simply be newer phones, and then they return to staring at the screens.

Everybody hugs everybody and says “Merry Christmas”.  I wonder sometimes how many people actually mean it.  Is there any heartfelt wish that you have a wonderful holiday?  Or are we like an atheist saying “God Bless You” when someone sneezes.  Not because we believe in God or blessings, and not because we desire for that person to be blessed.  But simply because it is what one says when someone sneezes.  (And now that I think of it we’ve dropped “God”, and just say, “bless you” now.)

We have become so “multi-cultural” that we have devalued everything cultural in our society.  The kids take winter break now, and spring break.  No longer Christmas and Easter.  People wish you “Happy Holidays” more than “Merry Christmas”.  A television news anchor is under fire for saying that Santa Clause is white.  Though he has been so for as long as he has existed (figuratively).

My wife and I get paid by direct deposit.  Both checks go in to the same bank account.  It feels a little stupid for us to take each other’s money and go buy each other gifts with it.  So, for the most part, we don’t.

There is no tree, no presents, no fire, no pitter-patter of little feet.  No carols, no cookies…no snow.  It’s just a day off work.

But, since I hate my job I guess I’ll take that as a present…

Merry Christmas.

2 responses to “December 23rd

  1. Doug would you like me to bring you cookies and milk and sing you a song? 😛 rofl
    I must tell you up front I don’t bake and can’t carry a tune. 😛
    You have Health, family and friends and that is all you really need because there are many that have none of the above.
    This is me wishing you and your family a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

