Dragon Naturally Speaking

On Monday I had sev several discs fused in my. neck.  This has resulted in the inability to feel several fingers on both of my hands which, of course, makes typing difficult.  So I broke out my new copy of Dragon NaturallySpeaking version 12 to see how well it works while dictating blog entries.  Punctuation can be a bit of a problem.  Although I do feel that the program is learning from me as I speak.  I imagine that going back through the spellchecker or looking for punctuation errors is somewhat simpler than China to tape the whole thing with fingertips that don’t work very well…
.
Overall, the program appears to be functional.  Though I must say if you write with any sort of particular writing style that requires double spaces or extensive punctuation.  The program takes some time to figure out exactly what it is you’re trying to do.

I have not had any issues whatsoever with the program understanding my words.  I sit here and rattle off sentences or even paragraphs and the program picks it all up and aside from the aforementioned punctuation issues.  It seems to get what I’m trying to say.

If you are an individual struggling, for whatever reason with the inability to use your hands, vision issues, or for whatever reason would prefer to dictate your work rather than type it, I can highly recommend this program to you.

Cost is always relative, what may seem cheap to me may be expensive to you, and vice versa.  But the program is not unreasonable hang written this short review using Dragon Naturally-speaking as entirety.  I will leave you to decide whether this looks like something that you could use.  I will say if you are a college student or someone else who is constantly having to write papers.  This may be the way to go.  Allows you speaking your natural voice caught your thoughts and put them on paper without ever lifting a hand.  I think in the long run if I was ever to write a book.  This might be the way I would do it.

And now that I have given you a brief review using Dragon Naturally Speaking.  I’m going to write the blog post.  I actually intended to write when I fired it up

Leave a Reply

